Skip navigation

“I’m working much harder these days in this tougher economy, but business is great. I need to focus to keep it that way.”

Those words came to me via email from a long-time hiring manager. This is a successful entrepreneur and family man that has been part of multiple successful startups and, at times, commuted between 2 vastly separated parts of the country to make a new venture successful.

These are encouraging words to hear. Especially coming from someone who has been through up and down markets more than once. It is becoming a more common update these days; successful people working their butts off to grow a business.

And the reason? It’s simply what they do. If I’ve learned anything from working with the talented people in technology it’s that they work hard and they work inspired. They work because it’s a part of the fabric of who they are as individuals.

I’ve been telling a lot of my contacts that I’m hearing comments like these with increased intensity. I do not pretend to know what is happening with the economy or how things will look 6 months or a year from now. All I know is that every day I have conversations with startup people who are working with a focus and with a drive that I hope to see soon in other parts of our economy.

“The business is growing well. We’re working really hard and seeing positive results; hoping to hire in another 3 months.”

These words came from a new hiring manager at a brick-and-mortar startup that started selling their product towards the end of last year. Again … inspiring to hear when so many in this country are gripped by their fears.

It’s a late night and I’m off to bed in a bit, but I at least wanted to forward this to all of you out there looking to get a read on what is happening beyond your line of sight. Keep your heads down and chins up, people.

Tomorrow is a new day and as I always say … opportunities DO abound!

Leave a comment